Jimmy Dore caught in lie about his promotion of ivermectin

Matthew Dimitri
3 min readOct 20, 2021
(Image via a deleted June 6 YouTube livestream on The Jimmy Dore Show)

Today, pro-Trump commentator Jimmy Dore posted to the right-wing video platform Rumble for the first time. Rumble is featuring his post on the homepage but it hasn’t gathered much steam. In the video, he lies that he never said that ivermectin can treat COVID-19.

Dore also pushes aspiration during vaccination, saying, “That’s how you do an intramuscular injection, you’re supposed to aspirate to make sure you didn’t hit a vein. That’s how you’re supposed to do it! That’s how they’re doing it in Denmark!”

But Health Feedback explains that aspiration is unnecessary “because no large blood vessels are present at the anatomical sites involved in intramuscular injection.”

“As the flashback of blood hardly ever happens, the practice was abandoned by many practitioners,” Helen Petousis-Harris, a vaccinologist and associate professor at the University of Auckland said to Health Feedback.

“They make up a strawman, they say I said things I didn’t say and I’m gonna show you that, and it’s about ivermectin,” Dore said. “Now, did you hear me say that ivermectin has been proven to treat COVID, and that because it won the Nobel Prize on 2015 that means it could treat COVID? I never said that. Did I? I didn’t say anything like that.”

The drug ivermectin never won the Nobel Prize, it “was awarded to two scientists for their discoveries involving the drug” treating parasitic infections in humans.

ivermectin, in both human and animal version is not a treatment for coronavirus. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, the National Institutes of Health and the World Health Organization caution against its use to treat COVID-19.

On the July 27 edition of Spotify’s “The Joe Rogan Experience,” Dore falsely claimed that ivermectin is a treatment for COVID: “Can we talk about ivermectin? I covered what they did in Mexico city and ivermectin seems to be a drug that not only treats it but will prevent you from getting it.”

And in a deleted June 6 live stream, Dore explicitly promoted ivermectin as a treatment for COVID-19 while claiming that he had long COVID side effects for two months from the vaccine, saying that “it has not stopped.”

It is impossible for the vaccines to give you coronavirus.

“There are thousands and thousands of people like me,” he claimed, despite most COVID-19 hospitalizations and deaths getting attributed to unvaccinated people. He also lied that the vaccines are experimental.

Poynter writes, “COVID-19 vaccines that have been approved by WHO or the FDA are not experimental and have undergone all stages of research, resulting in high efficacy.”

“And now we are finding out that ivermectin treats this, COVID,” Dore falsely said. “That if you just use ivermectin, by the way this data has been out there for awhile. The media won’t cover this — I don’t even know if we’re allowed to cover it. But I am experiencing it first-hand and I’m gonna talk about it. I think it’s important that people talk about their reactions to the vaccine. Why? So we can make a better vaccine, one that doesn’t make people like I am right now.”

“And I’m scared to death right now and I’m trying not to be because my doctor said anxiety is going to make this situation worse. So try not to worry. That’s what my doctor said,” he said. “I’m like okay, I’ll try not to worry about this experimental thing that’s made me sick for two months, and I’m sitting around worrying that it might never go away,” he said. “That for the rest of my life I feel like this. That I’ll have a headache and stiff neck and flu-like symptoms. I’ll never feel good. That’s my fear.”

“And we gotta stop shaming people and stigmatizing people who have questions about medical science,” he added. “We gotta let people have theories and we gotta be able to criticize the scientists when they are speculating because that’s what Dr. Fauci has been doing.”

Dore also touted a non-clinical study claiming ivermectin helped reduce COVID-19 hospitalizations by 76%, with no humans directly involved.

Politifact writes, “But ivermectin was the only drug trumpeted in the study released by Mexico City. The study was widely characterized as misleading, according to the Brazilian fact-checking site Estadão Verifica, since it heavily emphasized ivermectin.”

--

--